Winter Sports Tryout Information

Below is the tryout and start date information for the winter sports season. All students interested in participating in a winter sport must complete their pre-participation paperwork online at https://monroefightinghornets-oh.e-ppe.com/index.jspa and have a completed valid Physical Examination Form on file PRIOR to the start of tryouts.

Additionally, there will be a Winter Sports Pre-Season Parent and Athlete meeting on Thursday, November 10 at 7:00pm in the High School Gymnasium that athletes and parents should plan to attend.

Girls Basketball

  • High School Tryouts will be held on Friday, October 28 from 3:00pm to 5:30pm and Saturday, October 29 from 9:00am to 12:00pm in the High School Gymnasium. 
    • Contact: Chad Allen at callen@monroelocalschools.com
  • Junior High Tryouts will be held on Friday, October 28 from 3:15pm to 5:15pm and Saturday, October 29 from 8:00am-10:00am in the Elementary Gymnasium.
    • Contact: Lauren Zimmers (7th Grade) at lzimmers@monroelocalschools.com or Jason Frazier (8th Grade) at jfrazier2244@gmail.com

Boys Basketball

  • High School Tryouts begin on Friday, November 4 from 3:00pm to 5:15pm and Saturday, November 5 from in the High School Gymnasium. 
    • Contact: Kenny Molz at kmolz@monroelocalschools.com
  • Junior High Tryouts be held on Friday, November 4 from 5:30-7:00pm (7th Grade) and 7:00pm to 8:30pm (8th Grade) in the High School Gymnasium and on Saturday, November 5from 8:00am-9:30am (8th Grade) and 9:30am to 11:00am (7th Grade) in the High School Gymnasium
    • Contact: Kevin Taylor (7th Grade) at kevin.taylor@lexisnexis.com or Jim Sliger (8th Grade) at sligerjf@gmail.com
Bowling
  • Tryouts will begin on Monday, November 7 from 3:00pm to 5:00pm at Eastern Lanes in Middletown. Students are responsible for their own transportation to and from the venue. 
    • Contact: Head Coach David Rolph at david.rolph@chs.trihealth.com

Swimming

  • First date that practice is permitted is Monday, November 7 from 7:30pm to 9:00pm at the Atrium Family YMCA located at 5750 Innovation Dr, Middletown, OH 45005. Students are responsible for their own transportation to and from the venue. 
    • Contact Head Coach Shannon Johnson at sjohnson@monroelocalschools.com  

Cheerleading

  • High School and Junior High Winter Clinics will be held on Wedesday and Thursday, November 16 & 17 from 4:00pm to 5:30pm. Tryouts will be held on Friday, November 18 at 5:30pm. All Clinics and Tryouts will take place in the Auxillary Gymnasium. 
    • Contact: Varsity Head Coach Shannon Kelly at skelly@monroelocalschools.com

Wrestling

  • First date that practice is permitted is Friday, November 11. Practice will be held from 3:00pm to 5:30pm in the Wrestling Room.
    • Contact: Shawn Thomas (High School) at madcal@mac.com or Sean Lambert (Junior High Head Coach) at slambert0126@gmail.com