Skip to Main Content

Board of Education

Members of the Monroe Local School Board stand for a group photo. Left to right: Tom Leeds, Dave Grant, Tim Carpenter, Debbie Hagedorn and A.J. Fullam

Monroe Local Schools is governed by a board of five Monroe residents elected to hire and evaluate the district's superintendent and treasurer, set policies in which schools operate, and approve the hiring of faculty and staff to administer these policies.

Board members are elected to serve four-year terms and may serve unlimited consecutive terms. Officers serve a term of one year and may be re-elected.

The Board sets meeting dates in January for the entire calendar year. For additional information or to view the meeting schedule, please visit the board meeting dates page.

Tim Carpenter, President

Tim Carpenter

Member since January 2014 (Current term expires January 2026)

Tim and his wife, Missy, have been proud Monroe residents since 2012 and have three daughters attending Monroe Local Schools – Hazel (2025), Lucy (2028) and Greta (2030).

Aside from his dedicated service on the school board, Mr. Carpenter has a successful career with GE Aerospace where he serves as a senior scientist specializing in coating and material systems. Beyond his professional commitments, Tim can often be found cheering enthusiastically from the sidelines of soccer, softball, or cross-country events, attending track meets or theater productions, and supporting his daughters in any other activities they might be involved in.

Tim and Missy chose Monroe for its close-knit community and exceptional educational opportunities. With a firm belief in equipping students with the knowledge and skills to succeed, Tim is committed to supporting all Monroe students as they prepare for their future endeavors, whether pursuing further education, entering the workforce, or serving in the military.


Debbie Hagedorn, Vice President

Debbie Hagedorn

Member since January 2022 (Current term expires January 2026)

Debbie and her husband, Tom, have been proud residents of Monroe since 2003 and have raised three children in Monroe – Diana (2016), Zach (2022) and Tori (2023).

A graduate of the University of Cincinnati and Bowling Green State University, Debbie was a member of the UC Marching Band for four years. She remains involved in music and arts programs at Monroe, where she participated as a booster club member and currently volunteers as an assistant guard instructor for the marching band. Debbie also serves the community as a member of the planning commission for the city of Monroe.

Outside of her service to the school board, Mrs. Hagedorn boasts a 20+ year career in the steel industry, where she serves as a customer account representative for Cleveland Cliffs. In her spare time, she enjoys spending time with family and friends, swimming and kayaking, relaxing by the fire, or watching the marching band’s pregame and halftime performances.

Motivated by her positive experiences as a parent of three Monroe students, Debbie is driven by a deep-seated desire to ensure that every student and family within the community receives the same level of educational excellence and support that her own family has benefited from.


A.J. Fullam

A.J. Fullam

Member since January 2022 (Current term expires January 2026)

A.J. and his wife, Tekila, have been proud residents of Monroe since 2018 and have two daughters – one attending Monroe Elementary and one enrolling at Monroe Primary this fall.

A 2002 graduate of Fairfield High School, Mr. Fullam holds a bachelor's degree in business and marketing and works as the marketing director for a local automotive dealership group. During his leisure hours, he finds joy in sports photography, attending sporting events, volunteering with the youth cheerleading program, coaching youth soccer, and spending quality time with his family.

A.J. has always had a passion for supporting his community. He values public education and strives to be a positive leader for the students, staff and administration as they continue the growth of educational excellence in our schools. He is an advocate for proper state funding and is working to responsibly expand our district to meet the needs of Monroe's growing population.

Mr. Fullam has served on the Finance Committee as well as the Student Achievement Committee and currently supports the work of the board's Legislative Committee.


Dave Grant

Dave Grant

Member since 2014 (Current term expires January 2028)

Dave and his wife, Becky, have been proud Monroe residents since 2002 and have two sons that are Monroe graduates.

Outside of his duties on the school board and his professional responsibilities as an outside sales representative for FD Lawrence, Mr. Grant and his wife love to hike, ski, ride bikes, go on Jeep trips and spend time with their family and first grandchild, who will also be a Hornet when she reaches kindergarten.

His voice is one you may recognize if you’ve attended a varsity football game in the last 15 years or a boys varsity basketball game in the last nine, where he also serves as an announcer.

Dave believes that his role on the school board is centered around a collective commitment to providing the highest quality education for our students, utilizing the resources available to us effectively. Equally important is the district’s commitment to equip our dedicated educators and staff with the necessary tools and support to deliver that education.


Tom Leeds

Tom Leeds

Member since January 2006 (Current term expires January 2028)

Tom and his wife, Mary Ann, as well as their son, Bill, are proud graduates of Lemon-Monroe High School. Tom and Mary Ann were married for 59 years prior to her passing in April 2022.

Following a distinguished 37-year career at Armco/AK Steel, Mr. Leeds now devotes his time to farming his land in Monroe, where he has resided for much of his life.

A pillar of the Monroe community, Tom has served a number of community organizations over the years, including the Monroe Volunteer Fire Department (42 years), 4-H (club leader), the Monroe Lions Club, and the Monroe United Methodist Church, where he served on all committees at least once and some several times.

Tom also served on various athletic committees when the Monroe Local School District was first established, and has been a member of Monroe football's "chain gang" for more than 60 years. He was inducted into Monroe's Athletic Hall of Fame in 2022. 

Currently in his fifth term on the school board, Tom has served as board president for three years and represented Monroe on the Butler Tech School Board. His unwavering dedication to serving others in any capacity underscores his desire to leave a lasting positive legacy within our school community.


loading gif