Skip to Main Content

Monroe board members honored during School Board Recognition Month

 Back To District News

Monroe board members honored during School Board Recognition Month

Jan 29, 2024
Board members Tom Leeds (L), Dave Grant, Tim Carpenter, Debbie Hagedorn and A.J. Fullam stand for a photo during the January 2024 board meeting

January is School Board Recognition Month, and Monroe Local School District is celebrating its board members for their commitment to the district, students and staff.

“The leadership and dedication our school board displays help shape the future of our schools and outcomes for our students,” Superintendent J. Robert Buskirk said. “I am grateful for the forward-thinking vision that they have for the future of our district and their commitment to always doing what’s best for our students, families and staff. Celebrating School Board Recognition Month is a small way for all of us to say thanks for all that they do.”

Serving as a link between the community and classroom, school board members are elected to establish the policies that provide the framework for public schools. The Monroe Local School District board is responsible for an overall annual budget of $41.6 million, 2,943 students, 290 employees and four school buildings. In 2023, the Ohio Department of Education and Workforce identified Monroe as the second highest performing school district in Butler County with a rating of 4.5 out of 5 stars on the Ohio School Report Card.

“School board members not only give our community a voice in education decision making, but also what the future holds for it when our students become leaders in our community,” Buskirk said. “Even though we make a special effort to show our appreciation in January, their contribution is a year-round commitment. Please thank our board members and let them know we support them and appreciate their service to our district.”


Board members serving Monroe Local School District are:

  • Tim Carpenter, Board President - 10 years of service
  • Debbie Hagedorn, Board Vice President - Two years of service
  • A.J. Fullam, Member - Two years of service
  • Dave Grant, Member - Nine years of service
  • Tom Leeds, Member - 18 years of service
loading gif